

Sata·Häme Soi

Founded in 1972, the annual Sata-Häme Soi International Accordion Festival takes place in the beginning of July in Ikaalinen, Finland. It is one of the most prominent music events in the country attracting more than 30 000 visitors every year.

The Sata-Häme Soi Festival features traditional Finnish accordion music as well as high-quality international light entertainment music, jazz music and classical music. The highly diverse festival program features the accordion and its related instruments in a variety of settings ranging from intimate concert halls to large outdoor park concerts.

In addition to the numerous concerts, accordion competitions are an essential part of the festival program. The light entertainment music National Accordion Championship Competition: the Golden Accordion Award (held since 1983), the Silver Accordion Award for children (since 1986) and the Primus Ikaalinen International Accordion Competition (since 2005) are major highlights of the Festival.

The Sata-Häme Soi Accordion Festival is held in a variety of settings amidst the beautiful parks and wooden houses and concert halls in Ikaalinen, located on the banks of lake Kyrösjärvi. The town of Ikaalinen is a lively centre of musical and cultural life tucked away in the district, just an hour's bus ride from Tampere and three hours from Helsinki.

In addition to the accordion festival, the area also boasts Ikaalinen Spa, which is the largest recreational spa in Nordic countries, and a wide selection of tourist services providing excellent opportunities of leisure activities and holidaymaking.



Primus Ikaalinen Prize Winners

2005

- 1. Idoia Laburu, Spain
- 2. Alexander Shirunov, Russia
- 3. Mickaël Vigneau, France

2006

- 1. Dimitri Saussard, France
- 2. Buzor Nenic. Denmark
- 3. Valentina Cesarini, Italy

2007

- 1. Julien Gonzales, France
- 2. Sami Hopponen, Finland
- 3. Amaia Iraola, Spain

2008

- 1. Mario D'Amario, Italy
- 2. Eduard Akhanov, Russia
- 3. Félicién Brut, France

2009

- 1. Grayson Masefield, New Zealand
- 2. Petar Maric, Serbia
- 3. Matteo Marinelli, Italy

2010

- 1. Pietro Adragna, Italy
- 2. Petar Maric, Serbia
- 3. Madina Tsaloeva, Russia

2011

- 1. Corv Pesaturo, USA
- 2. Giorgio Albanese, Italy
- 3. Matthias Matzke, Germany

2012

- 1. Tia Jia Liang, China
- 2. Dorin Grama, Moldova
- 3. Radu Laxgang, Germany



Tia lia Liang, China